Traktip - Resetting a Completed Task

Aug 21, 2018 10:39:58 AM / by Heather Lancaster

It’s time for another traktip!

You use the Task Manager to complete tasks within your issues all the time. It allows for creating checklists or branching workflows, giving you the ability to manage your processes from beginning to end.

However, have you ever gotten “click happy” and inadvertently marked a task as complete that wasn’t?

Did you know that you could edit that task and reset it to show incomplete?

Resetting your Tasks

Only users with the permission “Can edit tasks” can go in and modify a task to reset it.

To reset a task that’s been marked as completed:

  1. Click on the Task Manager button
  2. In the task popup, next to the task that needs to be reset, click the pencil icon
  3. Scroll down to the second where it says “Is Completed” and uncheck the box
  4. Click the disk icon to save the task
  5. Click the Save button to close the popup

Your task will be reset and able to be completed accurately at the appropriate time.

reset tasks

Clearing Added Tasks

Please note that if the task you just reset triggered another task group to populate, then those tasks will still be on the issue. And when the task is marked again, they’ll be added just as if they weren’t there. You will want to delete any tasks that were added.

To delete any tasks that populated by the accidental completion:

  1. Click on the Task Manager button
  2. In the task popup, next to the task that needs to be deleted, click the X icon
  3. Repeat as needed for each task
  4. Click the Save button to close the popup

If you were in the process of editing the issue for either of these scenarios, you’ll want to make sure to save your issue before navigating away.

As always, if you have any questions or would like to see this in action via a quick demo, don’t hesitate to contact your Account Manager. We’re happy to help!!

Topics: TrakTips

Heather Lancaster

Written by Heather Lancaster